Wake The Nations - Heartrock

RELEASE DATE: 25/01/2019


Wake The Nations - Heartrock


In 2009, Risto Tuominen started working with a band that was being established by Janne 'Gekko' Granfors: a grunge-type of outfit with Krister Stenbom on the lead vocals, Tuomas Pelli on drums, and Gekko on guitar. A Hard Rock band Villa Sucka was formed. They wrote songs actively and recorded an EP during the spring of 2010. In the same year, Risto was recruited to a melodic rock/AOR band Human Temple . Gekko soon followed him. At that time, Jori 'Jorge' Tojander was the keyboard player of Human Temple. As Human Temple were taking a break, Risto decided to start recording his solo album in 2012. During the previous years, he had written some songs that were never published. Risto asked Jorge, Gekko and Kalle Saarinen, all from Human Temple, to help him with the record. Also, Tuomas got an enquiry whether he could join. Initially the idea was to record already written songs but things soon became more and more ambitious. Risto's idea was for a Wake the Nations project. Janne Hurme (Human Temple) and Petri Kitti (Violent Code) permitted him to record two of their songs as well. It took a year to fine-tune the songs. When it was time to record the vocals, Risto wasn't confident enough to do it himself. So, he began to search for proper singers. In 2013, he found Estef Martinez (Insider) from Ecuador, Dado Topi (Time) from Croatia, Taage Laiho (Kilpi), and Nils Nordling (Silver Bullet). Janne Hurme and Krister Stenbom were invited also. In addition, Timo Pelander (Finlanders) played guitars and Jari Pailamo (King Company) keys on some tracks. Sign of Heart was born in January 2015. The album got its way to the top-50 of the official Finnish chart in the first week after release. Soon Krister joined the band and WTN hit bigger stages. A live performance in DBTL festival 2015 was a turning point: WTN opened for Sunrise Avenue and got some international interest after their show. Ever since, the band have been play more shows and have toured Germany numerous times and supported Swedish metal act Dynazty during their Titanic Mass tour in Finland. These guys are known not only for their music, but also energetic and positive attitude which is present on and off stage. During the years 2016-2018, WTN wrote and recorded material for Heartrock . It features some of the best melodic Hard Rock pros in Scandinavia and writers also include Sören Kronqvist (Joe-Lynn Turner / One Desire) and Thomas Wikström (Therion), mixing and mastering was conducted by the mighty Erik Mårtensson (Eclipse/W.E.T.), producers include Ilkka Wirtanen (Reckless Love/The Nights). The end result being a solid yet diverse melodic AOR album with stadium rock sounds and a hint of the 80's. Track listing: No Mercy; Tattooed Girl; Midnight Lovers; All My Life; Fallen Angel; Now You're Gone; New Day; Flames; Something In Your Eyes; Higher; This Is Over


Designed by Replay Records Grimsby

Copyright © 2021 Replay Records Grimsby.